County Office of Education

Mariposa County is one of five counties in California that has a single public school district within its boundaries. While most County Offices of Education oversee a number of school districts, there is but one school district in Mariposa County – Mariposa County Unified School District. Furthermore, one administrative office performs both District and County Office operations. While it may appear that our administrative office represents a single entity, it is in fact two separate and distinct entities, each with defined functions and responsibilities. However, the two entities "share" several employees, and are governed by the same five elected Board members:

District 1: Kathy Chappell
District 2: Jim Cupp
District 3: Judy Eppler
District 4: Wayne Forsythe
District 5: Bob Collins

Other Local Public Schools

Sierra Foothill Charter School (Catheys Valley)